Final Shoot Evaluation

For my final shoot I was inspired by Lorena Cosba. As I explained in my shoot plan she photographed people showing different moods and emotions on their faces and had them printed on Polaroid type papers to present them. She then ripped parts of the top image out so that the bottom image was showing through. She picked two images that contrasted each other to go together. For example, one image may be of an older lady and the other would be of a younger women, the photos could be of the same person just of when they were younger to older and current. The Younger photo is in black and white meaning this theory is supported due to the photo being old and from the past where as the older woman photo is in colour as it is current. Another theory to add to this project is that the older woman, the current, present self is wanting to be young again, she is hiding behind the younger photo with part of her surest self peering and breaking through the rips in the photo. The feeling of not being good enough and wanting to be different occurs.

Remembering these pieces of information I was able to start my final shoot, I used Amber as my model and had her make different expressions that represented different moods and emotions, such as being sad, happy, angry or amused. I decided to mix it up a bit and have two parts towards this shoot, One part with a black background using lighting techniques and the other with a white background like Lorena Cosba originally used. For the first part I used a white background but due to the type of lighting and white boards used within the shoot, the outcome of the photos had a black background. I know it would had been easier to just use a black drop but I wanted to put some of my lighting skills that I have developed within this course to the test in this shoot. This part of the shoot was successful as the lighting turned out how I wanted it to, I want to change it up a bit and see how it would effect the pictures when having the model in front of a black background instead of white. As we have to present four final images I will have two of the mages using the black background and the other two images using the white background so they’re not all the same.

After examining each image I have then picked four pairs of pictures, these eight images contrast each other in their pairs so that when I rip the top image the bottom image will contrast through. I wrote them down and then paired them up with arrows matching them up.

IMG_2751.JPG

I printed out the eight different photos in their pairs and cut them out in the style of a polaroid pictures with the white borders. I then used a pin on the top image to poke through where I wanted the rip to start. I then took tweezers to rip the image as the tears were small and dainty and I didn’t want massive constructive rips.I ripped away the eyes, mouth and a part of the body. I then started my second shoot to capture the two images combined together to create the final one.

 

Four final Images:

 

I am quite happy with the outcome of my four final images a they turned out as I expected. I was able to improve this shoot as I had practice from my experimental shoot when I was still choosing what to do. However If I was to change anything I would have a consistent background colour of white through out all of my images. When it came to the editing stage of the photos the black background was hard to edit and didn’t look at good as the white background images did. If I was to do this project again I would pick a different experimental shoot to use as my final. I think I would do the painting one inspired by Shin Kwangho, I enjoyed doing the experimental shoot for this as I was able to use acrylic paints and brushes to create something colourful to represent mood and emotions.

 

 

Leave a comment